International Society of Hematology (ISH)

ISH is the oldest and only world hematology organization established by the national hematology societies, in 1946. ISH is an independent organization dedicated to education of professionals and public in all areas of hematology. The Society is also concerned with advancing scientific research as well as the practice of hematology at both clinical and laboratory levels. The Society always has the strongest commitment to serve, educate and keep up-to-date knowledge in hematology as well as to promote highest ethical and scientific standards.
ISH membership is open to any person with medical or scientific qualification of good professional standing with active interest in hematology for a period of at least 5 years. ISH has over 4.500 active members, worldwide.

History of ISH

In 1946, an international conference was organized by Dr. Uribe Guerola (Mexico) in Dallas and this meeting was attended by 90 delegates from Canada, United States, Great Britain, China, Greece and Mexico. In this small session an inspiration was received from free exchange of scientific information. The group including clinicians, clinical pathologists, chemists, geneticists and morphologists were motivated and highly interested in the study of blood. They were also determined to offer education and new benefits to all concerned. International Society of Hematology (ISH) was founded by 18 fellows and 90 delegates from, on November 23rd, 1946. Fellows voted to have the Dallas and Mexico City meetings designated as the First Congress of the International Society of Hematology (ISH) and Dr. Joseph M. Hill as its first president.
The first formal ISH Congress was held in Buffalo, New York from August 23rd to 26th, 1948. In this congress, there were 740 attendees from 21 countries, including Australia, Brazil, Canada, Costa Rica, Cuba, France, United Kingdom, Greece, The Netherlands, Israel, Mexico, Norway, Pakistan, Peru, Poland, Sweden, Turkey, United States and Venezuela.


Administrative Structure

ISH consists of three divisions:
- Asian and Pacific Division (APD)
- European and African Division (EAD)
- Inter - American Division (IAD)
Each Division is governed by the Secretary – General and Divisional Board.